Skip to main content

Criminology and Criminal Justice Department

criminal justice students in front of a courthouse

 

The goal of the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice is to provide students with a strong interdisciplinary foundation. Graduates are prepared to respond appropriately and ethically in challenging “real world” situations as they move on to careers in criminal justiceemergency and disaster management or for further education.

Our  Criminal Justice Program is one of WCU's largest, with residential or online options. The online Emergency and Disaster Management Program is rated as one of the best online emergency management programs by BestColleges.com.  The Emergency and Disaster Management Program is also offered as a residential minor. Each program of study brings together theory and hands-on practice through the curriculum, internships, independent studies, and student-faculty interaction, a hallmark of our department.

In conjunction with the goals of the University, the College, and the Department, our programs are based on the philosophy of a liberal arts education, grounded in social science methodologies.

Our curriculum emphasizes the interdependence of theory and practice in addressing "real world problems." Our emphasis on application guided by scholarship provides a strong, interdisciplinary foundation for future criminal justice and emergency and disaster management professionals.

The focus for undergraduate students is to achieve mastery of fundamental academic competencies and a basic level of expertise in the fields of criminal justice and emergency and disaster management.

The faculty are committed to provide high-quality education in criminal justice, emergency and disaster management, and criminology to our majors, other students across the University, and to the professional community.

EDM493-Photograph

Students enrolled in the EDM493 - Introduction to Unmanned Aerial Systems course pose for a photograph taken by the drone with which they had been practicing their flying skills.


Faculty and Staff

Our faculty have a wide range of expertise, experience, and interests. Recognized nationally for their research, these faculty members’ practical knowledge has been developed on the front lines of the criminal justice system in courtrooms, prisons, juvenile centers, and on the streets.

Name Contact  
Dr. Karen Mason, Department Head Belk 405D
828.227.2814
 

Dr Karen Mason

 

Dr. Jamie Vaske, Assistant Department Head; Director of the Administration of Justice Program Belk 410F
828.227.3615
jvaske@wcu.edu

Dr_Jamie_Vaske

 

Dr. Lisa Briggs; Director, Emergency & Disaster Management Program Belk 405A
828.227.2180
lbriggs@wcu.edu

Dr_Lisa_Briggs

 

Dr. Stephen Brown Belk 410
828.227.2174
browns@wcu.edu

Dr_Steve_Brown

 

Ms. Connie Bryson, Administrative Assistant Belk 410
828.227.2172
csbryson@wcu.edu

Connie_Bryson

 

Dr. Cyndy Caravelis Belk 410N
828.227.2165
caravelis@wcu.edu

Caravelis

 

Dr. Julia Crowley Belk 410B
828.227.2815
jccrowley@wcu.edu

Dr_Julia_Crowley

 

Dr. John “Andy” Hansen Belk 410G
828.227.2145
jahansen@wcu.edu

Dr_Andy_Hansen

 

Dr. Thomas Johnson Belk 405C
828.227.2563
tjohnson@wcu.edu

Dr_Thomas_Johnson

 

Dr. Al Kopak Belk 410E
828.227.2328
amkopak@wcu.edu

Dr_Al_Kopak

 

Professor J. Tom Morgan Belk 410D
828.227.2749
jtmorgan@wcu.edu
 

Morgan

 

Dr. Ophir Sefiha Belk 410J
828.227.2176
opsefiha@wcu.edu

Dr_Ophir_Sefiha

 

Professor Aaron Vassey, Distance Learning Coordinator Belk 410
828.227.2172
pavassey@wcu.edu

Prof_Aaron_Vassey

 

Dr. Tasha Youstin Belk 410C
828.227.2858
tjyoustin@wcu.edu

Dr_Tasha_Youstin

 

Office of Web Services